Trains at a Glance 2022

Trains at a Glance 2016 


The launch of Trains at a Glance 2016- the new Time Table effective from the 1st October has also been launched.


With over 66 thousand kilometres of route ( 1/3 rd of which is electrified), more than 7000 stations, above 10,000 locomotives and more than 60 thousand coaches, Indian Railways runs above 13000 passenger carrying trains – to take about 23 million passengers to their destinations – everyday.

The journey in Passenger Operations in the last two years has been one of sustained efforts to provide additional capacities, improve the quality of travel experienceand to reach out to all types of passengers including those in far flung areas. As can be seen, funds to the tune of 8.56 Lakh crore are already tied up for these purposes for 2-15-19 and have started bringing results.

Additional services provided in last 2 years include 308 new trains, 99 extensions, 118 trains whose frequency was increased and permanent addition of 1610 additional coaches.

We have also met additional demand by running more than 70 thousand special trains including those to meet extra rush, election movements, military and para-military movements, and tourist trains. Besides, more than 2.5 lakh extra coach trips have also been provided – as per need.

We have been migrating to better coaches – with more comfort and speed. 38 trains have been provided the modern LHB coaches and 40 trains converted to the faster and superior MEMU coaches.

We have also added trains to new areas including Sri Mata VaishnodeviKatra, Arunachal Pradesh , Barak Valley and many more.

In the current Year, the efforts to improve service levels in passenger operations have gained further momentum. What has already been done in the current year includes premium trains like Mahamana and Gatimaan express,aneven more accelerated transition to superior coaches including the new DeenDayalu coaches started from August, More Permanent augmentations, and further efforts to meet additional demands.

The current year has seen several large religious and other congregations of people which have been managed effectively, to the comfort of our passengers , with record running of special trains and extra coaches and effective overall bandobast,. This includes the SimhasthaMela in Ujjain, the krishnapushkaram on the Krishna Basin and so on. The arrangements for the ensuing Durga Puja rush are also completely in place.

The highlights of the improvements planned in the new Time table that will come into effect from the 1st October, 2016, include most importantly, the specifics of the 4 new brands of train products.
Further, in this timetable, we have also reduced the journey times in 350 existing trains, 75 of which have made it to the superfast category.

We have converted 240 operational halts into commercial stoppages and have for the first time, provided in the time table, train connectivities to the North Eastern states of Tripura, Manipur and Mizoram.

Also incorporated in this Time Table – are 36 pairs of new services, some of which have been introduced in this financial year and some that will be coming soon- like the 10 pairs of Humsafar trains, 7 Antyodaya, 3 Tejas and 3 UDAY trains besides a number of other mail express trains, extensions, increase in frequency, diversions etc.

Infact, the 4 diversions mentioned at the end of the last slide shall become effective from the 1 st October. These will cater to a long pending demand of the people of Cuttack who will now get a direct connectivity instead of the detour these trains were earlier taking.

The contours of the new train products incorporated in the New Time Table are brought out here. The Humsafar as you are aware would be the fully AC service with optional catering,Antyodayathe long distance unreserved superfast train for common man, Tejas will have all modern on board features like entertainment , wifi and local cuisines, etc and UDAY will be an AC doublecker train on the busiest routes.

Coming to the specific routes and schedules of the new train products,

The 10 Humsafar Express trains will run between……

1. Sealdah- Jammu Tawi via Lucknow, Varanasi
2. Bhubaneshwar – rishnarajapuram via Vijaywada
3. Gorakhpur – Anandvihar via Lucknow
4. Howra – Yeshwantpur via vijaywada
5. Durg- Nizamuddin via Jhansi
6. Ahmedabad- Chennai via Pune
7. Tirupati- Jammutawi via Jhansi
8. Bandra- Patna via Jabalpur
9. Sriganganagar-Trichurapalli via Ahmedabad
10. Kamakhya-Bangalore via Cuttack

The 7 Antyodaya express trains will run between…

1. Darbhanga – Jallandhar via Gorakhpur
2. Tatanagar- LomanyaTilak Terminus via Bilaspur
3. Santragachi – Chennai via Vijaywada
4. Bilaspur – Ferozepur via Jhansi
5. Bandra – Gorakhpur via Vadodra
6. Howrah – Ernakulam via Vajaywada
7. Jaynagar _ Udhna via Patna

The 3 Tejas trains will run between….

1. New Delhi – Chandigarh
2. Lucknow – AnandVihar
3. Mumbai CST – Madgaon

And The three UDAY Trains will run between…..

1. Coimbatore – Bangaluru via Salem
2. Bandra – Jamnagar via Surat
3. Vishakhapatnam – Vijaywada





source : PIB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *