IRCTC Wheelchair Booking – Book Wheelchair Indian Railways

IRCTC Wheelchair Booking – Book Wheelchair Indian Railways

How to Book Wheelchair at Railway Station

Facility for Disabled and Senior Citizens on Trains and at Railway Stations

Instructions exist for provision of Wheel Chair at stations. This facility is provided, duly escorted by coolies (on payment) as per present practice.

Almost all the Mail / Express trains (except special type of trains like Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Janshatabdi, AC Special, Duronto) including Garib Rath trains have been provided with at least one disabled friendly coach. SLRD (Second Class Cum Luggage Cum Guard Van & Disabled friendly compartment) coaches and Power Cars for Garib Rath trains having provisions for PWD (Persons with Disability) Compartment with air-conditioning are already in service. These coaches have wider entrance doors for wheelchair access. Besides, following features are also provided:

i) Wider entrance doors of 920 mm width against 782 mm in conventional body side doors.
ii) Handrails on side walls for providing assistance to the disabled.
iii) Wider aisle of 1050 mm instead of usual 570 mm (the seats alongside the sidewall have been removed).
iv) Wider cushioned Berths – 707 mm instead of 607 mm in conventional coaches.
v) To accommodate wheel chairs, space between berths increased to 1201 mm against usual 542 mm.
vi) Larger Lavatory: 1947 mm square instead of 1540 mm x1189 mm.
vii) Wider lavatory door provided: 840 mm instead of usual 520 mm.
viii) Additional grab rails provided in the lavatory.
ix) Lower height of wash basin and mirror in the toilet.

Zonal Railways have been authorised to introduce ‘Battery Operated Vehicles’ at major Railway Stations for Disabled, Old Aged and sick Passengers on first come first served basis through sponsorship from individuals, NGOs, trusts, Charitable institutions, Corporates and PSUs / Corporate Houses under their Corporate Social Responsibility with no charge to passenger or to the Railway.

Provision / augmentation of amenities at stations, including those for differently abled passengers is a continuous process. In order to provide better accessibility to differently abled passengers, short term facilities as detailed below have been planned at all stations:

  •  Standard ramp for barrier free entry. Earmarking at least two parking lots.
  • Non-slippery walk-way from parking lot to building.
  • Signages of appropriate visibility.
  • At least one toilet (on the ground floor).
  • At least one drinking water tap suitable for use by differently-abled persons.
  • ‘May I help you’ Booth.

In addition, long term facilities as detailed below have been planned at ‘A-1’, ‘A’ & ‘B’ category stations:

  • Provision of facility for inter-platform transfer.
  • Engraving on edges of platform.

Railway Helpline – Customer Care

Kindly note the Menu of Helpline Number 139

Press 1 for Security & Medical assistance

Press 2 for Enquiry

Sub Menu: information regarding PNR status, arrival / departure of the train, accommodation, fare enquiry, ticket booking, ticket cancellation, wake up alarm facility / destination alert, wheel chair booking, meal booking

Press 3 for Catering complaints

Press 4 for General complaints

Press 5 for Vigilance related complaints

Press 6 for Queries during accident

Press 9 for Status of complaints

Press * for talking to Call Centre Executive

How to Book Wheelchair at Railway Station Step by Step

To book a wheelchair online using IRCTC’s e-wheelchair service, passengers can log in to or and enter their PNR number to check the availability of wheelchair. Here are the steps you need to follow:

  • Visit
  • Select E-Wheelchair under ‘Service at Stations’
  • Click on ‘e-Wheelchair’
  • Enter your PNR No. and Click on ‘Search’
  • Enter Required Details, then Click on ‘Book’
  • You will get the complete booking details.
  • Click on ‘Print Voucher’ for the voucher that will be required at the time when wheelchair is issued

This Features are available the Below  Railway station Book Wheelchair at Railway Station

Agra Cantt., Ambala Cantt. Jn., Amritsar, Ahmedabad, Ajmer, Allahabad, Anand Vihar Terminal, Bandra Terminus, Bareily, Bhagalpur, Bhopal, Bangalore City, Bangalore Cantt., Bhatapara, Bhubaneswar, Bilaspur, Chandigarh, Chennai Central, Chennai Egmore, Coimbatore Jn., CST Mumbai, Chhapra Jn., Darbhanga Jn., Dhanbad, Durg, Dadar, Dehradun, Delhi Jn., Ernakulam Jn., Gaya Jn., Ghazipur City, Gwalior, Guwahati, H. Nizamuddin, Hyderabad, Haridwar, Howrah, Jaipur, Jammu Tawi, Jabalpur, Jhansi, Jodhpur cantt., Kacheguda, Kalyan, Kanpur Central, Kharagpur, Kota, Kozhikkode, Lokmanya Tilak (T), Ludhiana, Lucknow, Lucknow Jn., Madurai Jn., Manduadih, Mughalsarai Jn., Muzaffarpur Jn., Mysore Jn., Mathura Jn., Mumbai Central main, New Jalpaiguri, Nagpur, New Delhi, Pune, Puri, Patna Jn., Raipur, Ranchi, Rajkot, Salem, Sealdah, Solapur, Surat, Secunderabad, Tatanagar, Thane, Thrisur, Tirupati, Tiruvananthapuram Central, Tiruchirapalli, Vadodara, Varanasi , Vijayawada , Visakhapatnam and Yesvantpur.