List of 400 Railway Stations to be Upgraded

List of 400 Railway Stations to be Upgraded

Station Redevelopment Programme of Railways

The Union Cabinet approved Railways’ proposal for redevelopment of ‘A-1’ and ‘A’ category stations (total about 400 stations) on ‘as is where is’ basis, by inviting open bids from interested parties with their designs and business ideas duly providing for amenities and other requirements of the Railways including permitting commercial development of real estate by Zonal Railways.

Accordingly, station redevelopment program by Zonal Railways was launched on 08.02.2017. Following 23 stations were taken up for bidding in first phase:-

of Station
State S.
of station
1 LokmanyaTilak
Maharashtra 13 Faridabad Haryana
2 Pune Maharashtra 14 Jammu Tawi Jammu & Kashmir
3 Thane Maharashtra 15 Secunderabad Andhra
4 Mumbai Central Maharashtra 16 Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh
5 Bandra
Maharashtra 17 Ranchi Jharkhand
6 Borivali Maharashtra 18 Chennai Central Tamil Nadu
7 Howrah West
19 Kozhikode Kerala
8 Visakhapatnam Andhra Pradesh 20 Yashwantpur Karnataka
9 Kanpur
21 Bangalore
10 Allahabad Uttar Pradesh 22 Indore Madhya Pradesh
11 Kamakhya Assam 23 Bhopal Madhya
12 Udaipur City Rajasthan

In the first phase of redevelopment for 23 stations, bids only for Jammu Tawi and Kozhikode Railway Stations have been received and are under evaluation. The other stations did not receive any bid.

A dedicated organization viz. Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Ltd. (IRSDC) was set up in the year 2012 for the purpose of station redevelopment on Indian Railways. Six stations viz., AnandVihar, Bijwasan, Chandigarh, Habibganj (Bhopal), Shivaji Nagar (Pune) and Gandhinagar have been entrusted to Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Ltd. (IRSDC) for redevelopment.

An MOU has been signed by Ministry of Railways with Ministry of Urban Development for integrated planning for station redevelopment projects in cities identified as SMART cities in association with Smart City authorities. Ten (10) stations i.e; Tirupati, Delhi Sarai Rohilla, Nellore, Madgaon, Lucknow, Gomtinagar, Kota, Thane New, Ernakulam Jn. and Puducherry have been taken up for redevelopment under this scheme, jointly by Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) & National Building Construction Company (NBCC).

Rail Land Development Authority has been entrusted to redevelop Safdarjung Station in New Delhi along with IRCON.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri RajenGohain in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today


Top 10 Cleanest (A1 Category Station) Railway Station
Top 10 A Category Station List In India

Link for the Map of A1 & A category stations.

Link for the List of A1 & A category stations.

Redevelopment of Railway Stations

Different between A1 and A category railway station
Adarsh Railway Station List Each and Every Zones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *